About this museum

 

The Chavonnes Battery Museum showcases the Archaeological Ruins of a Dutch East India Company Fort, buried for 140 years.

In 1714 Maurits Pasque de Chavonnes arrived as governor to succeed the Van der Stels. In 1715 he laid the foundation stone of Maurits Battery also known as Water Battery due to its closeness to the water’s edge. Later this became known as the Chavonnes Battery. It had 16 cannon and could enfilade the flanks of ships at anchorage.


It was completed in 1726 and was officially renamed Chavonnes in 1744. Commanded for several years by Sgt Ettienne Barbier who later in 1739 was drawn, quartered and hanged at Roodesand pass where he had commanded a band of outlaws (he had deserted).

In 1860 the battery was demolished to build the Alfred Dock.

Six canons are still in existence on the site around the Captain’s Tower at the Alfred Dock. The Tower is plumb on the site of the old battery.” The Battery was 'rediscovered' in 1999 and has been preserved. You can visit the musuem which is below the Nedbank Building, a short walk from the famous old Captain's Tower.

 
2018-09-28-NK-MuseumNight-099.jpg
MN_VA16-9844.jpg

Secondary Programme


6:30 pm
The Elsies Rivier Brass Quartet

A performance by the Elsiesrivier Brass Quartest

8:30 pm
The Elsies Rivier Brass Quartet

A performance by the Elsiesrivier Brass Quartest